Dellabee and Me

All content is mine and should not be reprinted/posted without my express permission

Welcome to your new life

I am going to make t-shirts that say “I drove cross country with 2 kids, 2 dogs, 2 cats, and 2 guinea pigs – and they are all still alive!”  But then I guess I would be the only person who could wear them, since nobody else is dumb enough to tackle a menagerie-packed move like this one.  Guess I better make sure those t’s are XXL.

In the past 4 years we have moved 5 times.  But seriously, we used to be really really stable.  Before  I had my first kid my husband and I lived in the same place, the first house we owned, for 4 years.  Then the baby came, bringing with him some fantastic in-law drama and I longed to move back to the east coast.  By the time the baby turned 1, we were looking into relocating far, far away, or joining the witness protection program.  A job offer arrived for said husband, requiring a move to Virginia from Oregon.  I thought everything was all going to work out just beautifully.

The wrinkle in those plans was my father-in-law – who committed suicide within weeks of hearing the news that we would be moving away.

Anyways, after that my husband was unable to accept the job offer because, you know, that’s awful.  But in anticipation of taking the job, before grampa rained on our parade, we sold our house. We then moved into a rental house, then an apartment complex which was a total nightmare that I will save for another time, then we bought a townhouse at “the peak” of the housing bubble for way too much money.  And somewhere in there I got knocked up with child #2.

Then my husband lost his job.  He found a new one soon after, but in the process of networking became acquainted with the man who would eventually lure him away from his job and into the middle of nowhere for a new start.

All was not how it appeared and soon we realized that perhaps we had poor judgement.  Fast forward to now, and the decision to leave it all behind to start over in a new state on the other side of the country.  We did indeed drive cross country with a minivan, a u-haul towing an suv, a 2 and 4 year old, 2 dogs (one big, one small), 2 cats, and 2 guinea pigs.  OOOPS, forgot to mention the critters in the aquarium, the geriatric toads and newt that have belonged to my husband for over 10 years.  It was a full ride.

Now what? Not sure. Stick around to see. It should definitely be interesting.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

