Dellabee and Me

All content is mine and should not be reprinted/posted without my express permission

Unpacking

Here is a pile of unpacked items in the garage.

Here is a pile of unpacked items in the garage.

You know that rule about things that are still unpacked after 3 months are not getting unpacked? I suspect it is more accurate to say if it is still packed after 2 weeks, it ain’t moving.

I don’t know which is worse about moving: packing, unpacking, or the unshakable guilt that I didn’t rid of more stuff before we left.  And I am now going to officially turn this post into a “blame the husband”  post.  Because my husband, great guy that he is, is also kind of a…um…hoarder. 

Another wall of unpacked items - pardon the flash fom the bike reflector.

Another wall of unpacked items - pardon the flash fom the bike reflector.

See this picture right above here?  See all that stuff?  See the white boxes stacked neatly behind the bikes against the wall there?  Out of ALL that crap, the white boxes are mine.

Out of ALL the stuff in the garage, that bit of clutter is directly attributable to me.  The rest? If it’s packed, it’s my husband’s.

Great pile o'tools and man-gear

Great pile o'tools and man-gear

I think not only does he tend to hold onto stuff, he also accrues alot of things too.  Do you see all the tools?  Our previous home had a large garage with a workbench, and I am pretty sure the collection grew at that time. 

Additionally, my husband’s hobbies/interests are much more clutter-inducing than mine.  I like to cook, so I guess maybe I have numerous small appliances – which is sort of like the tool collection.  But he also collects music equipment and instruments.  Exhibit A:

Big boy toys with the little kid toys.

Big boy toys with the little kid toys.

This is a photo of the playroom, which I envisioned as a space for the kids’ toys and movies, a place they could play and I could lounge lazily on the couch without having to get up to get something for them because of course it was all going to be right there.

Except-

the guitar stuff needed a place to live.  Yes, that amp is what bands use.  To the far right, that thing sticking up is a didgeridoo.  Yes, you read that right.

All this leads up to my conclusion, which is both that I have largely unpacked most of the stuff that pertains to either our children or me personally while my husband, well, let’s just say if we were keeping score I’d be in the lead.  And that I have far less stuff than he does.

This last photo is the stuff that is truly mine.

Two small boxes, a roll of quilt batting, and an old tv/vcr combo - note the ironing board is in fact my husband's.

Two small boxes, a roll of quilt batting, and an old tv/vcr combo - note the ironing board is in fact my husband's.

I am the winner!

 

Back to the unpacking…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Unpacking

  1. Jen D on said:

    Would you be so bold as to try tossing things out when Doug is at work? Just a little here, a little there… He may never miss it!

Leave a Reply

