Dellabee and Me

All content is mine and should not be reprinted/posted without my express permission

Driving..with Children

 

Long drives with kids can be the stuff of nightmares.

But it is such a cheap way to travel.

I have made several long road trips with my kids, and I feel like I have a pretty good system.

I always bring:

– portable DVD player

– small selection of DVD’s, at least one favorite one and several that haven’t been watched recently

– coloring books, crayons, markers, blank paper

– action figures and Polly Pocket-size dolls and accessories

– Pillow petz/small pillows

– kids’ books on CD

– Nintendo DS lite

I fought getting the kids handheld video games for a long time before giving in earlier this year. Because they both enjoy them so much, and they can send each mother messages through “pictochat,” the DS is a good motivator. As in, when I have to shout threats from the front seat, I can include a threat to take their DS’ and they usually shape up quickly.

One other thing I have learned through frequent road trips with the kids is that it is best – and safest – if I have the things I might need for the drive easily accessible for me. I have a shallow box that fits in the passenger seat, just a plain cardboard box, that I use to organize the DVD’s, CD’s, napkins/wipes, snacks, and small toys. This makes it easy to grab what I need and pass it back to them without needing to stop the car every 20 minutes.

For snacks, I bring grapes, granola bars, apples, string cheese, cookies, goldfish crackers, and lunchables. I bring one or two insulated lunch bags and put everything that needs to stay cold inside them in the fridge until we leave. For drinks, each kid has a steel water bottle and I bring a jug of water to refill.

Bathroom breaks are the bane of my road-tripping existence, especially because of my 4 year-old’s fickle bladder. I make everyone use the bathroom every time I stop – so every time I get gas or stop for a coffee, we pile out of the car and use the potty. This can eat up a LOT of time, so I try not to stop unless I have to.

We survived two 12+ hour drives. And I am so happy to be home. And out of the car.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Driving..with Children

  1. You are the travel master!! After, what is referred to in our house as “The Ohio incident,” (where I yelled at the toll booth attendant for making me pay $14 to get out of his ‘amazing*’ state) my family promptly gives me a dose of Benadryl and knocks me out for most of the trip. Works for all involved. 🙂

    *words changed to protect the innocent readers of your blog.

Leave a Reply

