Dellabee and Me

All content is mine and should not be reprinted/posted without my express permission

Resolutions Check-in

It has been 3 months, so the first quarter of 2012 has come and gone. Time to check in on those resolutions.

This is going to be embarrassing…

1. Keep running. Run more. Have fun with it. Do more races.

So, about the running. I haven’t been doing it. I don’t know why. I think it is a self-care thing, I am feeling overwhelmed with working and parenting AND planning to move so I don’t take the time to run. I actually registered for a race last month thinking it would push me to establish a more regular running routine – but I ended up getting my race packet and then blew off the race. I don’t know what to do to get back into it.

2. Get organized! Throw crap out. Give stuff away. DON’T buy more crap!

This one is okay. I have not bought more crap. I have thrown crap out and taken (small) steps at improving the organization of things around here. It is not perfect – for example, I still need to sell the loft bed that the kids have outgrown but it is just taking up space in the spare room right now – but it is okay. Effort noted.

3. Get the dog into a training class. Please. For the love…

I did this one! Not a class exactly – the trainer came for an in-home lesson and gave us a few tips and things to work on with the dog. Apparently the dogs are pretty smart – Gracie too, much to our surprise. We just don’t expect more of them. It is actually hard to remember to do a few minutes of training with the dogs each day. Some weeks we are on it, others…meh.

4. Have more fun. Play with the kids. Do things I enjoy, even if I have to do them alone.

I don’t know what to say about this one. I have definitely NOT been having more fun. (I was so hopeful back in early January, wasn’t I?) Like the running issue, this one is also about not putting enough value into “me” time.

5. Take more pictures. Keep learning about photography. Stick with it.

Well, you might have noticed the lack of picture with this post. The camera has been spending time with my running shoes, sitting neglected and forlorn. I do not know why. I suspect I suffer from what can only be called “ups and downs.” I love taking pictures and creating things, it is simply a matter of being able to make it happen. (I have not done the last 2 weeks of p52 photos either – hope to get that done tomorrow)

6. Learn to swim.

This was unofficially added after the great pool-asshole-kid incident. Nope, haven’t tackled it yet.

So, there it is. Resolutions reviewed.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

