Dellabee and Me

All content is mine and should not be reprinted/posted without my express permission

Just Eat the Cupcake

Recently, a co-worker brought cupcakes to work in honor of someone’s birthday. This lady lives near a pretty great bakery, so she loves to bring us goodies from there when she can. The cupcakes – there were 8 – were simply decorated with white frosting and plastic picks with different fall characters on them – black cats, pumpkins, I think a scarecrow? Nothing crazy.

At lunch, my colleague offered a cupcake to each of us – including the newest member of our team. However, the new gal turned down the cupcake, explaining:

“No thanks. I don’t celebrate Halloween.”

If you check the date stamp of this post you will see it is actually the FIRST week of October. You might also have noticed that these cupcakes were brought for someone’s birthday. I can only assume that the lady who bought them did so because these were what were available.

The lady who bought the cupcakes is also a religious person. So, she began insisting that she also actually doesn’t celebrate Halloween. And she doesn’t allow her children to, either. And, also, she doesn’t actually care for any Halloween music either.

My suspicion – or at least how I imagine it going down – is that if JC (or Mr. Christ, if you’re nasty) had been there he probably would have said “really, just eat the cupcake. If it bugs you, take the pick out of it. I know that you don’t celebrate Halloween, and anyways it isn’t actually Halloween today, this gathering is not a Halloween party, and I am pretty sure I heard her say these were for a birthday. Really, it’s fine. SERIOUSLY. Sit down and eat the freakin’ cupcake. EAT IT.” (in my imagination, JC always curses – it’s just better that way)

But hey, whatever. Don’t eat it. I did. And I don’t believe in ANYTHING – but you’d better believe I’d eat an Easter/Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa cupcake without a second thought.

Because, you know, it’s a cupcake.

(It was delicious.)

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Just Eat the Cupcake

  1. Gawd I miss you Jen!! I just snorted and drooled and laughed really loud! Hysterical.

Leave a Reply

